Ensemble Paramirabo

Ensemble Paramirabo


Next concert – The CRAZIES !

The Crazies! au Lion d'Or


Wednesday May 21st 2014, 8:00pm
Cabaret le Lion d'Or
1676, rue Ontario Est

In a time when internet subcultures continually blur the lines of virtual and actual reality, self and sanity have never been more unclear. The human mind is a twisting maze of questions and choices, and at times it feels one wrong turn or unexpected obstacle could cause us to lose ourselves completely.

In THE CRAZIES! Ensemble Paramirabo once again stretches the boundaries of musical performance to take us on a tour of these dark passageways. Works of Phillipe Leroux, Georges Aperghis, Aurelio Edler-Copes, Gordon Fitzell and Peter Maxwell-Davies explore the limits of the human psyche: Escher-esque paths lead to nowhere, voices chatter inside a lonely head, and a trapped laugh refuses to be heard. The program culminates in a contemporary presentation of Maxwell-Davies comic opera, Miss Donnithorne’s Maggot, in which a jilted bride has become a recluse in her home, plagued by her hatred of the man who left her and taking solace in the drama of her personal tragedy.

Featuring the acclaimed Ensemble Paramirabo in their final concert of the season, with guests Sarah Albu, soprano, Vincent Ranallo, baritone and staging by Lilian Belknap, THE CRAZIES! is an event not to be missed.



Philipe LerouxContinuo(ns)
Aurelio Edler-Copes Encore seul*
Georges Aperghis Le rire physiologique
Gordon FitzellViolence
Peter Maxwell Davies Miss Donnithorne’s Maggot

* World premiere